Boston Design Week 2019 Design Awards

Friday, April 5 from 5:30-8:30pm 

The Boston Design Week Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an outstanding individual in the world of design
 whose work has spanned both the 20th & 21st centuries.


The 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to:
Roger Thomas, Executive Vice President of Design, Wynn Design and Development, and Principal, The Roger Thomas Collection.  Current Project: Encore Boston Harbor


Past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award include:

2009 - Vladimir Kagan, Designer and Architect

2010 - Dakota Jackson, Furniture Designer

2011 - Massimo and Lella Vignelli, Designers

2012 - Vicente Wolf, Interior Designer

2013 - John P. Axelrod, Collector and Philanthropist

2014 - Susan Park, Preservationist

2015 - Robert Campbell, Architecture Critic

2016 - Virginia Bohlin, Antiques Columnist, Boston Globe

2017 - Jonathan Leo Fairbanks, Decorative Arts Curator

           Emeritus, MFA Boston

2018 - Maurice N. Finegold, Finegold Alexander Architects

Join us at the 2019 Boston Design Week Awards! 


Friday, April 5 in the stunning new gallery at Artists for Humanity EpiCenter.  The Awards are the culminating event of Boston Design Week and we expect 300+ invited guests, general public, Design Week Participants and Sponsors, Media, and Leadership Committee.  Enjoy a catered event, special displays and dancing.  The Awards presentations take place at 6:00pm. Tickets: VIP 5:30 Admission, $250; Awards Celebration 6:30-8:30, Admission $50  Cocktail Attire | 21+

Purchase tickets here.


The Lifetime Achievement Award is the only award announced in advance. The other 2019 Awards to be presented include the Mentor of the Year, co-sponsored by The Over My Shoulder Foundation, which has a long history of fostering and recognizing the role of mentors in the design industries. Other Awards are: Newcomer of the Year, co-sponsored by Autodesk; the Social Impact Award; and Producer’s Choice: Outstanding 2019 Design Week Event.

Submit Your Nominations here.

About the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient 

Roger Thomas, Executive Vice President of Design for Wynn Design & Development, and Principal, The Roger Thomas Collection.  Current Project: Encore Boston Harbor

Roger Thomas created the interiors of Wynn Resorts worldwide including the new opulent Wynn Palace, Cotai, China. He is currently directing the design of Encore Boston Harbor. While a recognized leader in interior design for the hospitality industry, Mr. Thomas has also designed corporate offices and aircraft interiors, as well as private residences and yachts.

The Roger Thomas Collection includes signature designs and products for APF Master Framemakers, Boyd Lighting, Edward Ferrell + Lewis Mittman, Fromental, More and Giles Leather, Rocky Mountain Hardware, Samuel and Sons, Passementerie, Townsend Leather, Veneman, Koroseal, S. Harris, Maya Romanoff, SICIS, Speakman Plumbing, The Phillips Collection, Studio A, Labrazel bath accessories and Alexander Lamont.

Mr. Thomas was elected to the Hospitality Design Platinum Circle in 2005 and was named “Designer of the Year” at The International Hotel/Motel & Restaurant Show® (IH/M&RS) in New York. Mr. Thomas is a 5-time member of Architectural Digest’s A.D. 100 and, in 2015, was inducted into the Interior Design Hall of Fame.

He is a graduate of Interlochen Arts Academy and The School of the Museum of Fine Art in Boston, MA. He received a BFA in Art History from Tufts University and an honorary masters’ degree from the Interior Design Institute. His work has been published in leading journals, including Architectural Digest, Elle Décor, Interiors and Hospitality Design.

Nomination Guidelines

• All Nominations must be submitted electronically by midnight, March 1, 2019

• Anyone can submit as many nominations in each category as they choose, and self-nominations are allowed.

• Only complete nomination forms will be considered.

• The winners will be announced and the Awards will be presented at the Boston Design Week 2019 Awards, on Friday April 5 at 6:30 p.m. (The Awards event takes place from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m.) The nominee need not be present to receive the Award, but all finalists will be notified and receive complimentary admission to the Awards for themselves or a representative.

• The Award finalists and recipients must agree to allow Boston Design Week to publish and promote the information about the award.

• The Awards carry no monetary value, and the decisions of Boston Design Week and its advisors are final.

The Mentor of the Year Award is given to an outstanding role model in any design field who encourages involvement in professional opportunities and provides exemplary guidance or training in their discipline to students, staff members, colleagues or the public.  The Mentor of the Year Award is co-sponsored by The Over My Shoulder Foundation.


The Newcomer of the Year Award is given to an outstanding individual (or individuals) in any design field, who has launched a new product, design process, design business or other innovation within the past 5 years. The Newcomer of the Year Award is co-sponsored by Autodesk.


The Social Impact Award is given to an outstanding individual, project, development, innovation or business in any design field that has contributed a design solution large or small  to any urgent issue facing our world: societal, environmental, economic, health and wellness, poverty and hunger, affordability, sustainability or other.   

Stay in touch! 

  • mail icon 2
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr App Icon

Boston Design Week is produced by:

Fusco & Four/Ventures, LLC  Boston

For more information or questions, please contact:

Call 617.363.0405 or email

 © 2019 Fusco & Four/Ventures, LLC  All Rights Reserved